Facebook – How to permanently delete your account – [Privacy Tactic]
Facebook will keep all your photos in case you’d like to return to them. Lets see what Facebook says exactly, “We also save your timeline information (ex: friends, photos, interests, etc.) in case you want to come back.”
You have to admit, keeping your photographs, contacts and hobbies seems a strange thing to do. Sinister even.
Deletion Right = Control
As Schneier discusses, deletion is all about control. So how do you wrestle back control of your photographs from Facebook?
How to permanently delete a Facebook account
If you don’t think you’ll use Facebook again, you can request to have your account permanently deleted. Please keep in mind that you won’t be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you’ve added. Before you do this, you may want to download a copy of your info from Facebook. Then, if you’d like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, log in to your account and fill out this form.
Schneier is right, it is about control. The right to delete is the ultimate sign of control, so Facebook will “disable” rather than “delete”.