Skip to content

First Class Hons and My Pretty University


This year I gained a First class Hons in InfoSec.  Yes, I have a First class Hons degree – and I have to pinch myself to believe it.

Next comes the Masters.  The difference will be like day and night, I go from Script Kiddie to Zero day exploit creator.  Or not…

What are my concerns?  Firstly, the shift to a higher gear.  It’s like a car.  The education system takes you through first and second gear.  At A level you’re in third gear, and coasting along quite nicely.  Then undergraduates go to fourth and fifth gear.. now we’re supposed to be capable of greater things.  Suddenly sixth gear looms… and you’re speeding down the motorway at full pelt.  Reaction times have to speed up.  Learning times have to speed up.  It’s like a games console…  it’s insane.

The class will be too advanced for “textbooks”.  Good grief.  **Hangs head**  Can I panic now?  I’m scared of my memory failing to memorise at these speeds.  Yet this is the chance of a lifetime; I would probably always regret this, if I let this opportunity go.

I have loved this University; the teamwork has been spectacular, and worth experiencing, just to see how a team should operate.

My pretty little University, I owe her so much🙂

  1. Congratulations. Always knew you would do it.


    • Congratulations all round!!
      Our pretty little Uni has had a bumper crop of First Class Hons Degrees in InfoSec. They’re getting quite a reputation for InfoSec.
      I think they’re stunned too.🙂


  2. Somebody has to do this at Masters’ level, and you’re the perfect person for the job. The only thing I’m worrying about is what’s expected of us after.


    • All of us will be Masters.. WOW.. We’re going to be one scary team.

      It’s scary just thinking about it🙂


Leave a Reply

